yay me

November 12, 2009

I had an interview with Frank Pawluk on Wednesday,  I’d applied for the Certificate in Digital Photography at Aoraki Polytech.  I had to create a CV (um, yeah, how many years of doing NOTHING? LOL), and a portfolio of my work to take to the interview.  Both achieved (though after all my sweating, he didn’t even look at my CV!).  He opened my portfolio, and I held my breath…as he turned pages he made comments, about framing & shadows, and how engaged the subjects were…he closed the book, looked at me and said ‘you have a gift’ he then patted my book and said ‘you’ll make lots of money…lots” LOL  ah, how does a girl like to hear those words!!  We chatted some more about life & what I wanted from the course, and he finished (after about 45 minutes!) by saying, “I have no hesitation about accepting you on the spot, you’ll be an asset to the course”  Um, hello??  Me??  I was so relieved, floored, shocked – everything, but most of all – stoked!! My dream has potential to be a reality!  But then, this morning as I looked up Frank, I discovered how talented he is & about his career & now I’m humbled to have had the compliments about my work!!
I can’t wait til February!!

4 Responses to “yay me”

  1. Hannah Says:

    Congratulations, Dallas!! That is just fabulous news, I am so happy for you! You have oodles of talent and he is right, you have so much potential to make this dream a reality – and the making lots of money bit is pretty awesome, huh? Just think of all those scrapping supplies you will be able to buy 😉

  2. Trace Says:

    Congratulations Dallas – great news!

  3. Trina Says:

    Well done you! That is sooooo exciting and what a wonderful compliment. Bask in it. You’re worth it.

  4. Liddy Says:

    Ohhh Dallas, that is awesome news, how wonderful for your work to be recognised. It truly is wonderful but even better when the opinion comes from an expert. Go you, and yes roll on February.


Leave a Reply

